A new day

This is my second attempt at trying to blog about my family history.

Here’s a post from September 2008 that I started on blogger:

Where the Whalers Went

I seem to be all over the place with my research and trying to make sense of things because I just seem to keep sending myself emails to links and when I go back to see them…I’m like what the!?!?! I can’t remember why I sent myself the links or what I want from that particular website!

Today I emailed the Dartmouth (Mass) Town Clerk requesting the birth records for a Charles A Rounds. About two weeks ago I searched the New Bedford Public Library Whaling Collection Archives for Charles Rounds, I got the following information:

Crewmen: CHARLES A. ROUNDS
Rank: GREENHAND
Lay: 1/210 Ship Name: CANTON
Rigging: SHIP
Port of Registry: NEW BEDFORD
Whaling Ground: INDIAN
Departure Date: 06/28/1845
Return Date: 06/15/1847
Name: CHARLES A. ROUNDS Rank: GREENHAND 1/210

I then emailed the US National Archives-Northeast Region, Waltham, MA and they were able to provide me with the following information from Crew List complied 1820-1939:

Name: Charles A. Rounds
Ship: CANTON
Place of birth: Dartmouth, MASS.
Place of residence: New Bedford, MASS.
Citizen of the US
age 14, height 5′ 1
Departure date was July 28, 1845.

I will be ordering a copy of the original list but just have to find out shipping cost.

Now having done all this – I still yet have to confirm that this Charles A Rounds is actually my great great grandfather on my paternal grandmother, Lizzie (Te) Rounds side. According to John Young (1984) Charles Rounds arrived in Fiji in 1851, his source was the Land Claims Commission 1875-1887.

There is no mention on the New Bedford Public Library Whaling Collection Archives if Charles A Rounds got off the ship Canton before it returned to New Bedford, Mass. Recent family discussion online suggests that he may have ‘jumped ship’ in Australia. The Canton arrived in Fiji June 29, 1846 (Robert Langdon, 1984) and in Australia July 20, 1846 (NSW Archives)

I’ve actually seen a scan online of the shipping entry details for the Canton into Australia which has the name of the port in New South Wales, the caption’s name but sadly if memory serves me right it only had written down “23 crew” and not each individual crew members names. Now see, here’s a great example of finding information and not recording it, I must have emailed a link to myself but still haven’t come across it.

Back to family discussions online, Dennis seems to think that maybe Charles A Rounds (if he is our ancestor Charles Rounds) did ‘jump boat’ in Australia as Charles Rounds did send one of his son’s (William Rounds), to study in Australia – and worked part time in a stable breeding race horses. So one would have to assume that Charles Rounds was familiar with Australia to be satisfied to have his son sent there.

So to try and establish if this Charles A Rounds is indeed Charles Rounds of Fiji Dennis will check Land Claims Commission 1875-1887 records to see if it has any more information apart from just the year Charles Rounds arrived in Fiji.

I also hope to get via inter library loan copy of the log book for the ship Canton on microfilm.

Note: Where the Whalers went refers to the book “Where the Whalers Went: an index to the Pacific ports and Islands Visited by American whalers (and some other ships) in the 19th century” by Robert Langdon. 1984.

Any, so back to the present day…like 8 months later and I haven’t done much. Well, actually I did find out more but nothing concrete.

Today I emailed the Dartmouth (Mass) Town Clerk requesting the birth records for a Charles A Rounds. – Dartmouth (Mass) Town Clerk did get back to me but they couldn’t find any birth records for any Charles Rounds. They suggested I try New Bedford Town Clerk. This was in September 2008 – I did not contact the New Bedford Town Clerk until February this year (2009)but due to budget cuts (yeap, that’s what they told me!) and shortness of staff they couldn’t do a search but advised me to contact New Bedford Public Library and if the Library has anything on their files, to then contact the Town Clerk again. And continuing on with my Fiji time research, I only just sent my request to the library this week. Update: I just checked my Inbox and I was in contact with the Library in April (2009). They couldn’t find any written record for Dartmouth and New Bedford and said they always didn’t record births back in those days – we talking 1830’s here.

I will be ordering a copy of the original list but just have to find out shipping cost. I.e. A copy of the original Crew List for the whaling ship Canton – I haven’t done that.

So to try and establish if this Charles A Rounds is indeed Charles Rounds of Fiji Dennis will check Land Claims Commission 1875-1887 records to see if it has any more information apart from just the year Charles Rounds arrived in Fiji. I haven’t follow up with Dennis if he did. When I was in Fiji in December/January, I did go down to the National Archives and have a look at the Land Claims but it was all in cursive so I couldn’t understand a thing. I was going to get copies of them but didn’t get a change although I was in Fiji for three weeks!

I also hope to get via inter library loan copy of the log book for the ship Canton on microfilm. I actually found out later that the library I work is has a copy. I did manage to access it but there are more then 10 microfilms with no Index, so I didn’t know which film the log book for Canton was on. I did spend more then 1 hour looking but I felt sick after a while, so stopped. I haven’t looked at it again.

About Dulcie Stewart

#TeamFiji based in Brisbane. Artist/blogger/family historian.
This entry was posted in My Family Research and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

